Bardogs South Africa Edition

With the purchase of the Cape Town Shirt we support the community of Manenberg.
The purchase price includes the donation. You are free to donate more.
See products description for more info on Manenberg and Dowayne.
We will keep you up to date here and on our social media which projects have been realized. Thank you for your support.

CHF39.00

SKU50 Category Tag

Meet: Dowayne. 

Dowayne is from Manenberg, Cape Town. 

What or where is Manenberg?!
Manenberg is a community near Cape Town Airport in South Africa. It was established between 1966 and 1970 under the racist white apartheid regime that forcibly evicted "non-whites" from their homes in and around Cape Town. Families were divided up and shipped to areas further from the city with substandard housing and little formal infrastructure. 

Fear, loss, isolation, and trauma - not to mention the racial discrimination people in these communities faced - led to high school dropout rates, high unemployment, and a dramatic increase in violent crime, drug addiction, and gangsterism. 

So who is Dowayne?
Dowayne grew up in Manenberg and experienced what is unfortunately the reality for many. With an absent father and a drug-dealing mother, he dropped out of school in 9th grade. At age 13, Dowayne became addicted to "Tik," crystal meth and Mandrax (a type of sedative). At age 18, he started using heroin - and then things really took off. 

After several attempts at rehab, Dowayne finally persevered and will celebrate 9 years clean and sober in February 2021! 

And now?
Dowayne and his wife Sarah are now married, have a son and another baby on the way, and still have a big heart for this community that is full of vibrancy and fun and so much potential. They dream of continuing to give back to the people who call Manenberg home, supporting already established local organizations and making a real lasting difference in people's lives. 

Material outer fabric: 100% cotton
Model Size: Our model is 179 cm tall and wears size M
Care instructions:
- Only wash together with the same colors.
- Never iron over the logo
- Washing at 30 degrees
- Do not dry in direct sunlight
size

XS, S, M, L, XL, XXL

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Bardogs South Africa Edition”

Bardogs South Africa Edition

Mit dem Kauf vom Cape Town Shirt unterstützen wir die Community von Manenberg.
Im Kaufpreis ist die Spende dabei. Es ist dir frei überlassen mehr zu spenden.
Siehe Produkte beschreib für mehr Infos zu Manenberg und Dowayne.
Wir halten Dich hier und auf unseren Social Media auf dem laufenden , welche Projekte realisiert wurden. Danke für deine Unterstützung.

CHF 39.00

Zur Wunschliste hinzufügen Hinzufügen zur Wunschliste Zur Wunschliste hinzugefügt
SKU50 Kategorie Tag

Darf ich vorstellen: Dowayne. 

Dowayne kommt aus Manenberg, Kapstadt. 

Was oder wo ist Manenberg?!
Manenberg ist eine Gemeinde in der Nähe des Flughafens von Kapstadt in Südafrika. Sie wurde zwischen 1966 und 1970 unter dem rassistischen weißen Apartheid-Regime gegründet, das „Nicht-Weiße“ gewaltsam aus ihren Häusern in und um Kapstadt vertrieb. Die Familien wurden aufgeteilt und in weiter von der Stadt entfernte Gebiete mit minderwertigen Wohnungen und wenig formaler Infrastruktur verfrachtet. 

Angst, Verlust, Isolation und Trauma – ganz zu schweigen von der rassistischen Diskriminierung, der die Menschen in diesen Gemeinden ausgesetzt waren – führten zu hohen Schulabbrecherquoten, hoher Arbeitslosigkeit und einem dramatischen Anstieg von Gewaltverbrechen, Drogenabhängigkeit und Gangstertum. 

Wer also ist Dowayne?
Dowayne wuchs in Manenberg auf und erlebte, was leider für viele die Realität ist. Mit einem abwesenden Vater und einer mit Drogen dealenden Mutter brach er die Schule in der 9 Klasse ab. Im Alter von 13 Jahren wurde Dowayne süchtig nach „Tik“, Crystal Meth und Mandrax (eine Art Beruhigungsmittel). Im Alter von 18 Jahren fing er an, Heroin zu nehmen – und dann ging es erst richtig los. 

Nach mehreren Reha-Versuchen hielt Dowayne schließlich durch und feiert im Februar 2021 sein 9-jähriges cleanes und nüchternes Bestehen! 

Und jetzt?
Dowayne und seine Frau Sarah sind inzwischen verheiratet, haben einen Sohn und ein weiteres Baby auf dem Weg und haben immer noch ein großes Herz für diese Gemeinde, die voller Lebendigkeit und Spaß und so viel Potenzial ist. Sie träumen davon, den Menschen, die Manenberg ihr Zuhause nennen, weiterhin etwas zurückzugeben, bereits etablierte lokale Organisationen zu unterstützen und das Leben der Menschen wirklich nachhaltig zu verändern. 

Material Oberstoff: 100% Baumwolle
Modelgröße: Unser Model ist 179 cm groß und trägt Größe M
Pflegehinweise:
– Nur mit gleichen Farben zusammen waschen.
– Nie über das Logo bügeln
– Waschen bei 30 Grad
– Nicht im direkten Sonnenlicht trocknen
size

L, M, S, XL, XS, XXL

Bewertungen

Es gibt noch keine Bewertungen.

Schreibe die erste Bewertung für „Bardogs South Africa Edition“